How I Made My First Etsy Sale in 3 Days

Emily McDermott
8 min readJun 26, 2020

Before I opened my Etsy shop, I did a lot of research to see where to start. Are you in the same boat as I was? If I’m being honest, I could write about this for days. I experimented with my shop a lot to find what worked.

Getting your first sale can feel like a daunting task. There are a lot of sellers already on Etsy, selling everything from print on demand products to digital art.

Although it feels intimidating, remind yourself of the opportunity that exists. Etsy attracts millions of online shoppers, and is a great platform for your business or side hustle.

A lot of the information that is available online will be helpful for you. What is critical is knowing what the really important stuff is- what you should know now.

Money is time, and you won’t want to spend months waiting for your first sale.

When my phone lit up with my first sale after just 3 days of opening my shop, I was ecstatic! I felt like it had to be a fluke- how could this have happened so soon? But as the sales continued in the weeks ahead, I figured I had done something right.

Although I wish someone had given me the answers upfront (before the hours of research), now I can share what I know with you.

Where to Start

--

--

Emily McDermott

Top 0.1% Etsy seller, Digital Product Sales Strategist. learn more at itsemilymcdermott.com